Community Foundations: IL

Community Foundations are nonprofit, tax-exempt, publicly-supported grantmaking organizations. These foundations are public charities since they develop broad support from many unrelated donors with a wide range of charitable interests in a specific community. A community foundation has an independent board that is broadly representative of the public interest and it maintains a diverse grants program that is not limited in scope. In addition to making grants, these foundations often play a leadership role in their communities, serve as a resource for grant information and facilitate training and technical assistance for local nonprofits.

More detailed information about these foundations, including their program areas, types of funding, and application procedures can be found on GrantDomain, our online database of funding information.

Get equipped and boost your funding success with top-notch training and publications so your proposals get funded! Use our many resources, some free, some for a fee.

Community Foundations that give in the state of IL

Foundation Name Geographic Focus
Barrington Area Community Foundation Barrington, IL area
Charleston Area Charitable Foundation Charleston and Coles County, Illinois
The Chicago Community Trust Cook County, Illinois
Community Foundation of Central Illinois Must be within a 50 mile radius of Peoria, IL (excluding McLean County)
The Community Foundation of Decatur/Macon County Decatur, IL; Macon County, IL
Community Foundation of East Central Illinois east central Illinois
Community Foundation of Grundy County Grundy County, IL
The Community Foundation of Northern Illinois Boone, Ogle, Stephenson, and Winnebago Counties of Illinois
Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley Serves the City of Aurora, southern Kane County, and Kendall County in the State of Illinois.
Community Foundation of the Great River Bend Carroll, IL; Whiteside, IL; Henry, IL; Knox, IL; Rock Island, IL; Mercer, IL; Jackson, IA; Clinton, IA; Des Moines, IA; Scott, IA; Cedar, IA; Johnson, IA; Lee, IA; Louisa, IA; Muscatine County, IA; Van Buren, IA; Washington, IA;
Community Foundation of the Kankakee River Valley Kankakee, IL
Community Foundation of the Quincy Area Adams, Brown, Hancock, and Pike, IL; Clark, Lewis, Marion, Ralls, Pike, Knox, Shelby, and Monroe, Missouri; Lee, Iowa
DeKalb County Community Foundation DeKalb County
The DuPage Community Foundation DuPage County, IL
Evanston Community Foundation Evanston, IL
Freeport Community Foundation Freeport and Northwest Illinois
Galesburg Community Foundation IL
Greater Saint Louis Community Foundation Bond, Calhoun, Clinton, Jersey, Macoupin, Madison, Monroe, and St. Clair counties, IL; Franklin, Jefferson, Lincoln, St. Charles, St. Louis City, St. Louis County, Warren, and Washington counties, MO;
Highland Park Community Foundation Highland Park, IL
Illinois Prairie Community Foundation McLean, Livingston, DeWitt, Logan and adjacent parts of Tazewell, Woodford, LaSalle, Ford and Piatt counties of Illinois.
Keokuk Area Community Foundation Hancock County, IL; Western IL; Lee County, IA; Southeast IA; Clark County, MO; Northeast MO;
McHenry County Community Foundation McHenry County, IL;
The Moline Foundation counties of Rock Island, Henry, Mercer, Warren, Henderson, and McDonough in Illinois, and Scott County in Iowa.
Morton Community Foundation Morton, IL
Oak Park-River Forest Community Foundation The Oak Park and River Forest communities, IL
Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation Effingham County, IL