Community Foundations: WA

Community Foundations are nonprofit, tax-exempt, publicly-supported grantmaking organizations. These foundations are public charities, since they develop broad support from many unrelated donors with a wide range of charitable interests in a specific community. A community foundation has an independent board that is broadly representative of the public interest and it maintains a diverse grants program that is not limited in scope. In addition to making grants, these foundations often play a leadership role in their communities, serve as a resource for grant information and broker training and technical assistance for local nonprofits.

Community Foundations that give in the state of WA

Foundation Name Geographic Focus
Bainbridge Community Foundation Bainbridge Island, WA
Blue Mountain Community Foundation Umatilla County, OR; (Milton-Freewater, Weston and Athena, OR); Columbia, Garfield and Walla Walla Counties, WA
Columbia Basin Foundation Adams Counties and western Lincoln County
Community Foundation of North Central Washington Chelan, Douglas and Okanogan Counties, WA
The Community Foundation of South Puget Sound Thurston, Mason and Lewis Counties, WA
Grays Harbor Community Foundation Grays Harbor County, WA
Greater Everett Community Foundation Everett and Snohomish County communities, WA;
The Greater Tacoma Community Foundation Pierce County, WA; Tacoma, WA
Inland Northwest Community Foundation Benewah, Bonner, Boundary, Clearwater, Idaho, Kootenai, Latah, Lewis, Nez Perce, and Shoshone Counties of Idaho; Adams, Asotin, Columbia, Ferry, Garfield, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, and Whitman Counties of Washington
Jefferson County Community Foundation Jefferson County, WA
Kent Community Foundation WA
Kitsap Community Foundation Kitsap County, WA
Northwest Health Foundation Oregon; southwest Washington counties of Clark, Cowlitz, Pacific, Skamania, Wahkiakum
Orcas Island Community Foundation Orcas Island, WA
Oregon Jewish Community Foundation Oregon; southwest Washington
San Juan Island Community Foundation San Juan Island, WA
The Seattle Foundation King County, WA
Sequim Community Foundation Sequim-Dungeness Valley, WA
The Skagit Community Foundation Skagit County, WA
Stanwood-Camano Area Foundation (SCAF) Camano Island and Stanwood WA
Three Rivers Community Foundation Benton and Franklin Counties, WA
Whatcom Community Foundation Whatcom County, WA
Yakima Valley Community Foundation Yakima Valley area, WA