Community Foundations: NY

Community Foundations are nonprofit, tax-exempt, publicly-supported grantmaking organizations. These foundations are public charities, since they develop broad support from many unrelated donors with a wide range of charitable interests in a specific community. A community foundation has an independent board that is broadly representative of the public interest and it maintains a diverse grants program that is not limited in scope. In addition to making grants, these foundations often play a leadership role in their communities, serve as a resource for grant information and broker training and technical assistance for local nonprofits.

Community Foundations that give in the state of NY

Foundation Name Geographic Focus
Adirondack Community Trust National; Adirondack Mountains, New York; Northeast, New York;
Allegany County Area Foundation, Inc. Allegany County, NY
Berkshire Taconic Community Foundation Berkshire County, MA; Columbia County and northeast Dutchess County, NY; and northwest Litchfield County, CT
The Bethesda Foundation Inc. Hornell, NY area
Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation NY
Central New York Community Foundation, Inc. Onondaga and Madison Counties, NY
Chautauqua Region Community Foundation, Inc. Chautauqua County, NY; Randolph, NY;
Community Foundation for Greater Buffalo Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagra, Orleans, Wyoming counties, NY.
The Community Foundation for South Central New York, Inc. Broome, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware Otsego and Tioga Counties, NY
The Community Foundation for the Greater Capital Region, Inc. Albany, Columbia, Fulton, Greene, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, and Washington Counties, NY
The Community Foundation for the Twin Tiers Tioga County, NY; Bradford, Sullivan, and Tioga Counties, PA
The Community Foundation of Elmira-Corning and the Finger Lakes, Inc. Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben and Yates counties, NY;
The Community Foundation of Herkimer and Oneida Counties, Inc. Herkimer and Oneida Counties, NY
Community Foundation of Orange County, Inc. Orange County, NY
Community Foundation of Tompkins County Broome County, NY; Tompkins County, NY
The Community Foundations of the Hudson Valley Dutchess, Putnam and Ulster Counties, NY
Glens Falls Foundation Glens Falls, NY; Saratoga, Warren, and Washington counties, NY;
Long Island Community Foundation Nassua and Suffolk Counties, NY
The New York Community Trust New York, NY
North Star Fund, Inc. New York, NY
Northern Chautauqua Community Foundation, Inc. Northern Chautauqua County, NY
Northern New York Community Foundation, Inc. Jefferson and Lewis Counties, NY
Rochester Area Community Foundation Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, and Wayne counties, NY
Schenectady Foundation Schenectady County, NY