Community Foundations: MA

Community Foundations are nonprofit, tax-exempt, publicly-supported grantmaking organizations. These foundations are public charities, since they develop broad support from many unrelated donors with a wide range of charitable interests in a specific community. A community foundation has an independent board that is broadly representative of the public interest and it maintains a diverse grants program that is not limited in scope. In addition to making grants, these foundations often play a leadership role in their communities, serve as a resource for grant information and broker training and technical assistance for local nonprofits.

Community Foundations that give in the state of MA

Foundation Name Geographic Focus
Berkshire Taconic Community Foundation Berkshire County, MA; Columbia County and northeast Dutchess County, NY; and northwest Litchfield County, CT
The Boston Foundation, Inc. Boston, Massachusetts
Brookline Community Foundation Brookline, MA
Cambridge Community Foundation Cambridge, MA
The Cape Cod Foundation Barnstable County, MA
Community Foundation for Nantucket Nantucket, MA
Community Foundation of North Central Massachusetts MA
Community Foundation of Southeastern Massachusetts Southeastern Massachusetts (which includes the cities and towns surrounding Fall River, Taunton, Attleboro, New Bedford, Brockton, Bridgewater, and Plymouth)
Community Foundation of Western Massachusetts Hampden, Hampshire and Franklin Counties of Massachusetts
Essex County Community Foundation Essex County, MA
Foundation for MetroWest MA
Greater Lowell Community Foundation Ashby, MA; Ayer, MA; Bedford, MA; Billerica, MA; Burlington, MA; Carlisle, MA; Chelmsford, MA; Concord, MA; Dracut, MA; Dunstable, MA; Groton, MA; Littleton, MA; Lowell, MA; Pepperell, MA; Shirley, MA; Tewksbury, MA; Townsend, MA; Tyngsboro, MA; Westford, MA; Wilmington, MA;
Greater Worcester Community Foundation, Inc. Greater Worcester, MA
Woods Hole Foundation, Inc. Woods Hole, MA